Cadenzas to Beethoven's Violin Concerto, Op.61

Cadenzas to Beethoven's Violin Concerto, Op.61

Cover photograph
See larger image

Others in the series:

Violin Concerto Op.61 in…
ISMN 979-0-006-53860-7
(EAN-13 9790006538607)
Weight 280 grams
Published 14th December 2009
Availability In Print

Cat No. BA9020
Supplier Code BA 9020
Price £20.50
Composer Various
CategoriesViolin & Piano
Violin Solo
PublisherBarenreiter Ltd
SeriesViolin Concerto (Beethoven) URTEXT

Beethoven himself left no cadenzas for his Violin Concerto. This edition is unique in drawing together for the first time a selection of cadenzas to one of the most famous works in the history of music, written by composers and violinists over 150 years.

This publication contains not only the well-known cadenzas by Leopold Auer and Joseph Joachim, but also several which are seldom performed, such as those by Ferdinand David (the first surviving cadenza to op. 61), Louis Spohr, Eugène Ysaÿe, Camille Saint-Saëns, Henri Vieuxtemps, Jakob Dont and, for the first time, one by Henryk Wieniawski.

Commentaries (German/English) on the composers and on performance practice are included.

The edition complements the new piano reduction (Order ref: BA9019A) and will be invaluable for all violinists studying Beethoven's Violin Concerto.

- Indispensible for all violinists studying this masterpiece
- First publication of a cadenza by Wieniawski
- With notes on performance practice
- With an informative, detailed preface (Ger/Eng)

© Copyright 2008 Triangle Pianos Ltd. Site Queries: Contact our webmaster

Triangle Pianos (registered at Companies House no.4014367)
Registered Office: Salt Mill Barn, Old Salsbury Lane, Romsey, Hants, SO51 0GD
VAT Registration No. GB 755 0579 14

PayPal Acceptance Mark