Michael Nyman: The Piano (Music from the Film)

Michael Nyman: The Piano (Music from the Film)

ISBN 978-0-7119-3322-4
ISBN-10 0-7119-3322-7
(EAN-13 9780711933224)
Weight 162 grams
Published 22nd November 2009
Availability In Print

Cat No. CH60871
Supplier Code 9780711933224
Price £9.95
ComposerMichael Nyman
CategoryPiano Solo
PublisherChester Music Ltd
Difficulty level6 - 8

Six original compositions for solo piano, by Michael Nyman, from the award winning film by Jane Campion.

English composer Michael Nyman has developed into one of the most popular, if not important, composers of film music, and his film score for the 1992 film The Piano is without doubt the most famous and familiar of his compositions.

The tone of Campion's film is perfectly emphasised by Nyman's style and though much here is beautiful and rich, it is a haunting and foreboding sound picture that reflects the greys of sea, sky and spirit.


  • 1. Big My Secret
  • 2. The Mood That Passes Through You
  • 3. Silver-Fingered Fling
  • 4. Deep Sleep Playing
  • 5. The Attraction Of The Pedalling Ankle
  • 6. The Heart Asks Pleasure First (The Promise/The Sacrifice)

© Copyright 2008 Triangle Pianos Ltd. Site Queries: Contact our webmaster

Triangle Pianos (registered at Companies House no.4014367)
Registered Office: Salt Mill Barn, Old Salsbury Lane, Romsey, Hants, SO51 0GD
VAT Registration No. GB 755 0579 14

PayPal Acceptance Mark